Band History – New voice, new sound (2003-2008)

A new vocalist, Sean Filkins was recruited to replace original vocalist Martin Read and a fourth album, ‘Gathering Speed’, was released in March 2004. Gathering Speed was a concept album which told the story of a fighter pilot in the summer of 1940. It marked a significant change in direction for Big Big Train with the band exploring classic prog-rock territory with the addition of post-rock influences.

The Difference Machine album was released in September 2007 and featured guest performances from Pete Trewavas and Nick D’Virgilio.

Big Big Train 2007

In 2008, Big Big Train re-released English Boy Wonders (an updated and completed ‘director’s cut’ version of the album which was partly re-recorded by BBT and fully re-mixed by Rob Aubrey).